[TF.N Main] [Contact Us]
[Video Games - Main]
[More...]
[Lucasarts]

[Popular Stories]
CEII: Jabba's Palace Reunion - Massive Guest Announcements

Star Wars Night With The Tampa Bay Storm Reminder

Stephen Hayford Star Wars Weekends Exclusive Art

ForceCast #251: To Spoil or Not to Spoil

New Timothy Zahn Audio Books Coming

Star Wars Celebration VII In Orlando?

May The FETT Be With You

Mimoco: New Mimobot Coming May 4th

[Jedi Council Forums]
Star Wars: Battlefront III Speculation, hopes, discussion

Star Wars Games Trivia Challenge

Empire At War: Forces of Corruption

Lego Star Wars II Discussions

JC.N GL Gaming Lounge II
[Poll]
There are no polls
currently operating
in this sector.
Please check
back soon.

View Poll Archives



Catching Up With Star Wars: The Old Republic

Posted By Mike on March 3, 2012

Besides the Pacific Territories launch of Star Wars: The Old Republic and the newly licensed TOR t-shirts from J!NX.com, we have a a few quick hit links to pass your way this weekend.

First up, SWTOR.com breaks down the Guild Summit scheduled for March 5th...

"Next week, representatives of over 150 guilds from around the world will be coming to Austin, Texas to take part in BioWare’s inaugural Star Wars™: The Old Republic™ Guild Summit. During the summit, guild members will have the opportunity to speak with the development team, and see a preview of what the future holds for the game.

When the Guild Summit was announced, we received thousands of applications from passionate fans who were willing to travel from all parts of the globe to take part. While we were humbled by the overwhelming response, we couldn’t accept every application for space reasons. However, we don’t want any of you to miss out on the details either. That’s why we are excited to announce that portions of the Star Wars: The Old Republic Guild Summit will be streamed live!"


Click here for the full details complete with an event schedule.


From the Community side of the official TOR site, the latest Friday Q&A dives into mailboxes on ships, grey alignments, Accuracy stats, region by region maintenance, and more.


Speaking of maintenance, there will be a scheduled maintenance on March 6th that should hopefully take no more than 6 hours. The time is as follows:

Date: Tuesday, March 6th, 2012

Time: 2AM CST (12AM PST/3AM EST/8AM GMT/9AM CET) until 8AM CST (6AM PST/9AM EST/2PM GMT/3PM CET)



Economic changes are in store for Patch 1.1.5 according to a new blog entry from Principal Lead Combat Designer, Georg Zoeller. We've included the long intro below but you'll have to click here to check out the "rumors" noted by Georg.

"Massively Multiplayer Online games are built around living, breathing worlds that are always evolving, and Star Wars™: The Old Republic™ is no different. In our upcoming Game Update 1.2, we’ll be introducing a wide assortment of new features and content, while also introducing a number of improvements and changes to the in-game economy.

As we work to create a more player-driven economy, you can expect significant improvements to Crew Skills, and an extension of Crew Skill gameplay, such as item creation and research, into the Elder-Game content. You’ll also see new items brought into the game, including new schematics, Legacy items, a new tier of Player vs Player and Player vs Environment weapons and armor, and the ability to extract base-mods from purple items, as well as many other changes and improvements.

Weekly patch 1.1.5 (which is now on the Public Test Server) implements a number of changes in preparation of the upcoming Game Update, including the much requested removal of light side / dark side requirements on color crystals.

As it is expected when large scale changes are made to an economic system, enterprising players often find interesting opportunities to benefit from their knowledge about the changes beforehand (for example by studying test server patch notes).

With patch 1.1.5, we’ve decided to embrace these economic entrepreneurs and even go a step further:

By publishing a series of rumors and stories that are coming in across both the Imperial and Republic news wires, we are providing all of you with advance knowledge about some of the things to come in the near future…"



NerdReactor.com passes along the news that BioWare is looking for testers for the upcoming Update 1.2.


VentureBeat.com reports on an analysis from DFC Intelligence and the Xfire gaming social network that notes Star Wars: The Old Republic has a chance to gain over 1 million long-term subscribers.


That's all for now. As per usual, we'll be back next week with another TOR round-up.


Related Stories

March 18, 2012   Catching Up With SW: The Old Republic
March 14, 2012   Weekend Pass For SW: The Old Republic
March 10, 2012   Catching Up With Star Wars: The Old Republic
March 8, 2012   Watch The SWTOR Update 1.2 Legacy Trailer
March 6, 2012   Free Trial For SW: The Old Republic
March 1, 2012   TOR Now Available In Pacific Territories
March 1, 2012   New SWTOR T-Shirts From J!NX.com
February 25, 2012   Catching Up With Star Wars: The Old Republic
February 21, 2012   Catching Up With Star Wars: The Old Republic
February 16, 2012   TOR To Launch In Pacific Territories On March 1
February 12, 2012   Catching Up With Star Wars: The Old Republic
February 4, 2012   Catching Up With Star Wars: The Old Republic





[Video Games - News Archives]
Star Wars Island In Geoffrey's Jungle
Posted By Dustin on May 2, 2013:
Toys "R" Us Celebrates May the 4th

Zen Studios Celebrates May 4th With A Star Wars Pinball Sale
Posted By Dustin on May 1, 2013:
50% off Star Wars
Kotaku Details LucasArts' Final Months
Posted By Eric on April 10, 2013:
In-depth reporting plus video of Battlefront III

KOTOR II Developer Wants To Pitch Another SW Game
Posted By Eric on April 9, 2013:
Plus: details on the possible pitch

[TF.N Newsletter]
Enter Email Address:
Find Out More...
[All Posters]
Padme Amidala - Episode II - Stand Up
AllPosters.com
Search For Posters, Cardboard Stand-Ups & T-Shirts!
[Rebelscum.com - Star Wars Collecting]
[TheForce.Net - FanFilms]
[TheForce.Net - FanForce] [TheForce.Net - Fan Art]
[More News...]
TheForce.Net - Your Daily Dose of Star Wars
THEFORCE.NET IS NOT ENDORSED BY LUCASFILM, LTD. PLEASE READ OUR DISCLAIMER. © 2014 COPYRIGHT TF.N, LLC
The Galaxy is Listening
[TF.N Main] [TF.N FAQ] [Contact Us]